When My Environment Speaks Within My Dreams

This past weekend I was out backpacking in Olympic National Park. Hiking in any wilderness is my place of cleansing, re-energizing, and re-connecting, I always return back to civilization in a happy fog – relaxed, at ease and rid of the negative and stagnate energies once taking up residence within my physical body. Usually after a long day of hiking, once we reach a destination to set up our tent I am exhausted and ready for a good night’s sleep, under the stars, filled with beautiful relaxing dreams I usually don’t experience at home. However this time my dreams correlated with my environment, my surroundings, each night.

The first night we had to stop at a camp that was surrounded by dying trees, an area that had washed out at some time in the past. The river echoed in the background, as the naked tree branches stood completely still. Despite the lack of green forest beauty there was nothing eerie about this place; and since we were exhausted, the sun had set and dusk was turning into an illuminated starry night we knew this was the end of the trail for us today.

It was not long before we were tucked into our sleeping bags fast asleep when I began to dream – leaving my present waking reality as I hovered above my physical self and lingered on the boarder of the visible and invisible. However, this time I traversed through to the parallel realm of earth I found myself exactly in the same place I was sleeping. But it was the trees pushing me upwards and blowing me forward sweeping me with the emotions of their death. And then the whispers came – all chattering at once lunging me forward into the present future.

I dreamt of a poison sweeping the nation that was affecting all women. The letters that stand out the most are T R O S O N I E …. I want to say there was a Y in there (and my husband has remained me that through my muttering about the eerie dream the next morning I mentioned the letter V, but I am not recalling seeing that letter now). I was rallying about this product that was being added to the water which would slowly kill women’s insides. Some women had already died, while others just stop drinking the water. I resided on a street that was familiar to me now, I have been to this street before where old bungalow and large farm type houses stood behind rows of oak and maple trees. Every house had a front picket fence and gate and all the children played with each other around the neighborhood. There was this one particular neighbor girl who rallied with me – vocalizing how important it was for young children to stand up and begin protecting their future – she wanted to help me spread the word. She made signs and rode her bike up and down the sidewalk screaming the terrible news. Unfortunately her teenaged sister and her friends were not as concerned with their future or the issues they may face one day. Instead they walked by in a group and whispered valley girl type comments while making me out to be a crazy adult. The young girl told me that these girls hated me because I was disrupting what was important to them – clothes, make up, the mall and boys. My feelings were hurt and I became sad for this future generation but I knew I must rally on. Light turned to winter’s darkness quickly and I began shouting for people to come and sign up to stop this poison from reaching our drinking water. I shouted not to digest this product in vitamins or in food. You will die! I shouted. They want you to die! As a breeze picked up I noticed the leaves falling from the trees, the street lamps lit up the sky. They are died, not dying. Is the last thing I heard before waking up.

I open my eyes with a feeling of sadness. I quickly retraced this dream before my eyes became heavy pushed me back into slumber.

I dreamt of love, loss, and death in this next dream. I found myself running to the river’s dock and jumping into a deep body of water. I opened my eyes and could see through the dirty bluish green water. I dove down further to grab an object that was sparkling in the dirt at the bottom of the lake. I was overjoyed with being able to find this piece and I swam forward to the top of the water to take a breath before diving back under. As I swam quickly through the water I noticed a ladder to climb up and out of the water back on land. Once up back on the river’s dock I looked towards land excited to bring my findings to the cabin. As I began walking I suddenly forgot what I found, where I was, and wy I was going anywhere. I stopped turned around and walked back to the end of the dock. This is where death happens. I thought to myself. You are born, your grow, you love, you laugh, you cry, and you die. They are dying just as much as we are. I jumped back into the water and repeated the same actions. I opened my eyes and could see through the dirty bluish green water. I dove down further to grab an object that was sparkling in the dirt at the bottom of the lake. I was overjoyed with being able to find this piece and I swam forward to the top of the water to take a breath before diving back under. As I swam quickly through the water I noticed a ladder to climb up and out of the water back on land.

This time I noticed people walking around as silhouettes of what once was. The place used to be alive and now there are just imprints of memories and energies from the living that no longer exist. I stood on the dock watching and looking through the people until one of them waved me over. I ran over to them and they greeted me with kindness. “Thank you for people here. You can see now that we have died. It is good to peer into the lives of all living things. We are ghost of the past. What do you have in your hand?”

I held out my hand to show him the sparkly object I had found. He nodded and walked away. After smiling at the many people walking by I was urged to turn around and go back to the water. Again. I found myself running to the river’s dock and jumping into a deep body of water. I opened my eyes and could see through the dirty bluish green water. I dove down further to grab an object that was sparkling in the dirt at the bottom of the lake. I was overjoyed with being able to find this piece and I swam forward to the top of the water to take a breath before diving back under. As I swam quickly through the water I noticed a ladder to climb up and out of the water back on land. Once up back on the river’s dock I looked towards land excited to bring my findings to the cabin. This time when I arrived no one was there. Twilight had set in and all the trees that once bloomed with life were lingering on their last legs stretching their naked branches out and down to the ground. “I will go and tell the others.” I whispered. I woke up to early morning dawn.

I mentioned my eerie dreams to my husband and his eyes widen. He rarely recalls his dreams, but this time he remembered a dream vividly from the night we had just awoken from. “I dreamed we were trapped in downtown Portland and death gas was seeping through all the vents and sewers. We need “they” were trying to kill everyone so we covered our mouths and noses as we searched for a way out of the city. People were dying and mayhem had hit the area, yet no one knew what was really happening. We knew though, death.”

I am always bothered by energy within an environment – I sense it to the point where I will not enter a place if it is to strong or too dark. We had passed up an earlier camp spot because I did not like the feel of that particular spot. I guess even though we had to stop and rest for the night, and even though I was not bothered by the area and death of the trees, we both tapped into the dying trees and crossed with death’s energy creating our visions within our dreams.

By Starr Weems

The next night, once again after 10 hours of hiking we ended up at a beautiful but fogged in spot — Completely opposite feeling from the night before. The area had more backpackers stopping to soak in the beauty for the night and we found a nice spot right next to the lake surrounded by blueberry bushes.

That night when I fell asleep I dreamed of a friend of mine. We were sitting at this same lake I slept next to in deep conversation about the beauty of life within other realms, the beauty of land un occupied by humans, and other stuff I am unable to recall.
The light was foggy but illuminated. I was pulled out of this dream by a loud call from what I thought at first was a bird. In waking I thought a bird was warning everyone a black bear was near, but then I began hearing whistle calls that turned into a beautiful song. I woke up my husband and told him to listen asking him what this high pitch sound was. He rolled over and said Elk – listen. Suddenly I heard the stomping of hooves surrounding the lake, the calls of the herd creating such sweet music. How cool I thought. Because it was lightly raining I did not want to unzip the rain tarp and shine my headlamp on the Elk’s home. I laid back down and fell asleep to their beautiful calls. In the morning when I woke up at dawn, I could still hear them. I stepped out of the tent to see the large herd sitting on the other side of the lake. Rain was falling and dawn could not break through the clouds, so the little light of morning was amazing how it illuminated their color. Unfortunately my movement startled them and they all stood up and headed up and out of the area. The thundering of their hooves shook the ground and their calls and roars I imagined woke all the other backpackers up. And with a blink of my eye they were gone, blending in with the trees and grass of the hillside.

The reason I am mentioned the second night is because of the friend I dreamed about. Recently we spoke through email and she told me how connected she was to Elk. She explained to me she was once an Elk in a past life. She realized she one with the elk nation. When my husband told me that it was an Elk call I was hearing, my first thought was how cool my dream! Speaking with my friend next to this lake as the Elk came tramping in to find rest and peace alongside the lake also. Wow! I was speaking to her through the Elk Nation – they were one and I was able to feel it, and gather information (that right now I am unable to recall).

I have always known that my environment can highly affect my dreams —- many pieces of my current life past have seeped into the core of my dreaming mind. However, not in the backwoods…. not in the place which I consider my sanctuary; usually my dreams in the wilderness are filled with me cleansing and lavishing in the sweetness of my surrounding beauty. Yet this time, the environment spoke to me in a way that told their story, connecting the dots to both the living and the dead.


4 thoughts on “When My Environment Speaks Within My Dreams

  1. Hi! Good to read your post! How cool! So you connect with the way the earth is feeling? Usually when I am out in nature I connect in a way that lifts me up and releases the icky from me. I have dreamed affected by my environment but not like I did this weekend — not where I felt at peace, exhausted and happy to be where I was and then tapped into the story of death through the trees. And then the Elk were amazing, to dream of a friend so connected to the Elk Nation and then to realize in waking they were actually all around me. It is all so amazing. I am always happily surprised when dreams offering me more and more as I evolve. 🙂
    Cheers!

    Blessings, Meredith

  2. Hi, Meredith. Thank you for your experiences. Your waking physical moments are exposing themselves to be congruent with and counterpart to what comes to you at the times when your body is silent. I like the merging.

    I wrote a long e-mail to you last night, and it was prevented electronically from being sent to you four times. It wasn’t even automatically saved in my draft folder. I’ll reword/rework it to get it communicated to you. These slow methods of communication, hey? Keep faith,

    flc

Leave a Reply

