Dreaming of Your Physical Death

I realized that in previous postings I addressed only the symbolic meaning of death within a dream, along with when the departed appear in dreams. But I have not addressed people who do actually predict their death within their dreams. I have not personally received a dream from anyone in which they dreamt of death and then departed from their physical form exactly as the dream showed them. But I have read of people dreaming of their death and then they depart their physical form maybe days, months, or years later. The nearest I have come to a death dream that relates to my departure in this lifetime is a dream I experience as a child, and a dream I had a few years ago (which is posted under My Death).

When I was a child I dreamt of a voice speaking to me while floating in a foggy gray mist. It spoke of my departure from this lifetime – the moment I am supposed to die.

Hello Meredith!

Hello.

I was standing in a foggy mist within an unfamiliar place.

There is something I need to tell you Meredith.

Who are you? Where are you? I can’t see the voice.

No matter. Don’t be afraid. I am here to tell you something important about your life and death. Listen carefully for it will only be told to you once. What you do with what I am going to tell you is up to you. How you travel down your path is up to you. How you arrive to the end of the path is up to you. What happens when you reach the end of your journey is inevitable.

I don’t understand.

When you reach true happiness in this lifetime the next day you will die.

What?! When I am at peace I will die? I began to cry.

The wind blew the mist towards me and darkness set in.

I woke up.

I was 7 years old when I had this dream. I was terrified of this dream for years. I was terrified of being happy because I thought I was going to die. And there was no one to speak to about this dream for years. I just carried with me the weight & sadness of the dream day in and day out for many years. Sometime in my mid twenties when I moved to Southeast Alaska I located a fragment of happiness for a short time. I found a sense of peace in surfing the waves of Monty Bay and the Pacific Ocean. I found an internal sliver of serenity in backpacking in the wilderness far away from civilization. I relished in enjoyment of my invisibility from the rest of society. When I found these pieces of pure happiness I found them within the doorways of my mind leading me down deep within my soul. And then click! The light went on for me. I finally understood the meaning of my childhood dream. Yes, I will die the day after I find peace within my whole body, mind, and spirit. This no longer bothers me. I don’t mind. Where once I hid from inner happiness – that kind of happiness many find when they have love & comfort in their heart, that kind of happiness many experience when they are whole with their family, that kind of happiness when many feel waking up in the morning without any anxiety or tears of facing a new day – I no longer feel the need to hide from happiness (but I will say it is not so easy to hold on to at times, I am still unraveling it some days).

I do know when it is time for my departure from this lifetime I won’t be afraid. And I know when my death will take place because it will be the day after I relished in a whole day of pure peace and happiness within every part of my mind, body, and spirit.

I believe that when people are ill and are dying they have dreams of their departure. They begin to meet those from their past, present, and future in their dreams; and the spirits of these souls appear bringing light and guidance into the lives of the dying. I imagine we may all experience a dream at some point that highlights a message about our physical death. I think we may feel a knowing in the difference between our own death dream and dreams that symbolize aspects of ourselves dying. But I want to emphasis just because you dream of your death (or of dying) it does not mean you will be dying shortly after. I believe that all dreams are real, but they are also very complex to who we are as humans and as a soulful being.

I also believe that there is an awakening happening. People are emerging from their slumber and tapping into their own intuitive selves. Because of this awakening I feel that more people are able to receive messages within their dreams and bring them back into waking and embracing what the dream has to offer them. I think that if we are meant to know something about ourselves we will be given the information, how we interpret the message and what we do with the information is up to us. Our dream guides (our spirit guides) never give us information we are unable to handle.

If you find yourself having a death dream and have confusion in the meaning, I would be happy to help guide you through the images and translate your dream. Contact me

There are some great books that touch on Dreaming of Death; here are a few:

My Related Articles:

Offering Sessions by Donation   / Reasons Why the Dead Appear in Your Dreams / 

Visitations, When the Dead Come Calling  /  Translating the Symbolic Meaning of Death in Your Dreams

Dreams Beyond Dying