Awakening into the Dream

Through my childhood and young adult years I was an avid lucid dreamer and shared dreamer. I would awake within my dreams often exploring the details of the dimensions I resided in while dreaming. I learned quickly how to manipulate my dreams in my favor, this technique, once mastered in my teens, became very handy during nightmares and creepy dreams. However, I would also would change scenarios in my dreams which seemed to affect my waking life. Only later to find out I missed out on messages and guidance I had asked for in my late teen years.  Shared dreaming was natural and I had certain friends who would acknowledge their dreaming world when I would appear in their dream. Sometimes the dreams would be exactly the same, and every so often they would tell me how I guided them through their dream and helped them resolve an issue, whether physical, emotional, or mental. But in my late teens I also used my gift to enter into other people’s dreams just to show what type of power I had. This was not any type of power to claim out loud or be proud of, I usually ended up alienating myself from people I was trying to contact. I was looked upon by some as a odd sort of being.

As I grew older I began to change my view on how I dealt with waking up within my dreams. When I moved to Alaska at the age of 25 years old I found spirituality within nature. And although in a sense I had always been a spiritual human being, during my late teenage years and early 20′s I lost for a moment my purpose, the purpose of my dream world, and used my dreaming mind to my own selfish advantage rather then for healing & guiding. Moving to Alaska, finding myself again within nature, gave me a new idea of how to view waking up in my dreams. I no longer would wake up and manipulate or change the dream, but rather I began waking up and being present within the light & darkness of any dream I would have. Instead of changing what was taking place, I made it clear to the spirits, creatures, the energies that I was fully aware I existed in this dimension. I accepted the fact I was here to be taught as well as guide and heal others. I learned quickly that every symbol, every object, every sense, every spirit, creature, human, anything good or bad had a reason to be there… and they appeared within my dream for a higher purpose. I realized that the knowledge I was given, the messages I received about others to pass on was not a psychic tool to be played with but rather a gift of channeling in order to help heal others.

I opened up to my dreams and when I would awake into them, I in no way, changed anything that would take place. I stopped moving things around and let the energy guide me where I needed to go. I used my mind as a camera and began to take pictures. I spoke to those of both dark and light energies that approached me rather then running. I let myself get eaten, be torn apart if that was what the purpose of my dream was to be about. I let the earthbound spirits approach me and speak with me before asking them what they needed from me. I enjoyed passionate encounters with my soul mates; and embraced others who asked for my embraced. I let my vibration rise to a high vibration and began meeting my spirit, animal, and dream guides. I began listening and let any fear slip away from me. I discovered the reasons for all my nightmares and dreams that once made no sense to me. I began accepting the messages, given to me in order for me to pass on to others, without questioning them or fearing them. I believed in my dreams, my visions, and the messages I was given.  It was very profound for me to learn to wake up in my dreams but not change anything but rather be aware and just receive.

I encounter so many other dreamers that have an abundance of questions around lucid dreaming, I could never understand the fascination of them since this was a natural gift I was given at birth. Why was dreaming lucid so much more important for people to experience rather than just dreaming. Why do we have a hard time letting our dreams twirl us through the myths of our truest self? Why do we want the control lucid dreaming offers us as dreamers? I think these questions are answered differently for each dreamer, we are all on our own individual journey’s inward. Neither having control or not having control is good or bad, it is how you use your time while lucid dreaming that is most important. Use your time wisely, and don’t let anything pass you by.

Having a hard time waking up in your dream world? Try this:

  • Before going to bed relax and meditate inward.
  • Imagine a key that is familiar to you (your house key or car key for example)
  • Visualize this key before falling asleep.
  • Now visualize holding your key in your primary hand.
  • As you are falling asleep tell yourself  7 times that when you see your key in your hand in your dream you will become aware that you are dreaming.
  • When you come to that moment that you are aware you are dreaming remain still, be present, or react, just flow for a moment with what is happening in your dream.
  • Try this for 3 to 7 consecutive nights.
  • Write down every dream or part of your dreams you can remember from each night.
  • Take a break for a couple of nights. Then go back and follow the steps again.
  • Once you begin to wake up in your dream world, you can take small steps with interacting with your dreams. (Picking up objects, choosing what to say and who to interact with, confronting a fear rather then fleeing from it, etc..)

Resources on Lucid Dreaming:

Or contact me